"trojan.winlogon.exe" found on 3 notebooks during comodo-installation process

hallo,
I am new here and I am a beginner using COMODO firewall 3…
during installation von comodo 3.0… scan results turn out o show 2x “trojan.winlogon.exe”…
than I tried the same process on two more notebooks and found out, that ALL schon as Scan-result “trojan.winlogon.exe”…

how dangerous are these trojans and what shall I do, PLEASE?
THANKING in anticipation…
with best regards,
jpk

Greetings!

If it’s located in \WINDOWS\system32, it should NOT be removed. It’s a very important system files, and should for no reason be removed.
winlogon.exe is always running in memory, so it’s highly unlikely that it has been infected. If it’s located somewhere else than \WINDOWS\system32, it might actually be a sign of malware.

Cheers,
Ragwing

Strange if the Virus scanner is picking up winlogon.exe on all 3 comps.
Are they all on the same network?

Regards Matty

Comodo isnt the best scanner to trust. Scan with a good av and as.Upload the file here if you want.

hi,

THANK VERY MUCH INDEED,
VERY, VERY helpful!

i did NOT remove or quaratain it (again )because as i did so teh first time,
xp did not work any more…

here is the full test text of the malware results:

Trojan.Win32.Patched.m(ID = 0x72d15) C:\WINDOWS\system32\dllcache\winlogon.exe
Trojan.Win32.Patched.m(ID = 0x72d15) C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe

i use a fritz box for wlan + lan…

i also thin it is very strange,
that all three notebboks are supposed to be infected,
even so when installed the one completely new - after carefully formatting it…

further help ist very wellcome…

THANKS again,

jpk

All I have to say is, LEAVE THOSE FILES ALONE! You do NOT want to delete them. Like you wrote, Windows will NOT work without winlogon.exe.

Cheers,
Ragwing

PS:
HERE IS THE RESULT OF VIRUSTOTAL:

Datei winlogon.exe empfangen 2008.03.09 21:44:59 (CET)

does this meen,
that comodo pro detected a “trojan” without reason???