Best/Recommended nLite Configurations

For experts or long time users of nLite, what are your thoughts on the best or recommended configuration of this imtimidating-looking program? :slight_smile: By best I really mean to exclude the useless programs that most users will never use (e.g. Movie Maker, Outlook Express, etc.) while maintaining a functional OS without any errors like in Event Viewer or future Windows Updates patches?

I have never used it before because just based on the screenshots of the numerous Windows items, it scares me if I selected the wrong ones to not include on a customized Windows XP installation setup.

Well, this is a really difficult question.

Everyone knows about Windows. It started as a cheap copy of the Amiga Operating System and was called Windows 3.1. Then it was called 95, 98, 98 ME, NT, 2000, XP, Server 2003, Media Center Edition, now Vista, tomorrow Astalavista (oh, pardon me, we’re not there yet). Before that time, there was MS DOS (nowadays DOS is rather related to some sort of attack, but don’t think about it)

Windows is known to be primarily attacked by so called “hackers”. This is the landlord’s definition.

The program “NLITE OS” definitely is a Windows “hack”.
Maybe it will soon be forbidden in Germany to use this tool.
Because of the new anti-hacking laws.

You may know people like Matousec. Or maybe you are one of the people that gave hints to Secunia at certain vulnerabilities concerning software you like.

In Germany, it’s now forbidden to do research on software vulnerabilities, if you’re not involved in the software company that sells the relating product.

Now, I hope, you get a clue of what “hacking” is all about.

In the new German law, there is no difference being made between “hackers” and “crackers”, and certainly not between “friendly” and “evil” so-called hackers.

Ok, now let’s go back on topic: