ZoneAlarm Like Functionality

Is there a way to allow an application to act as a server (i.e., listen to and accept connections) and allow requests from the local computer but not from the Internet? In ZoneAlarm, this can be achieved by setting a program’s “Server” settings to allow “Trusted” and block “Internet”, whereby the “Trusted” zone contains the loopback address (127.0.0.1).

I installed Comodo over the weekend but couldn’t find a way to do this. As a software developer, I need this functionality. Thanks in advance for any help and comments.

I’m just curios, as recent ZA user and got fed with it’s just about “turtle speed with web surfing” even as I went to logit pension places etc…and then removed ZA completely include registry cleanups, and then got very happy with CFP 2.4 and its monitoring speed, and “seems not monitoring at all when I surf to my financial webs, are you still ok with ZA performance???
Just curios, might be you knew how to “bend this animal”, I meant ZA.
Me personally being with ZA installed for more then 6 month and eating it’s garbage, I would like to see ZA company out of business, as fair back payment just like that.

Greg

G’day,

If you’re running CFP 2.4, create a zone for the 127.0.0.X subnet and set this zone as trusted. This will add two rules to the Network Monitor. Now, go to the Application Monitor rule and add a rule for your application that references the zone we created for the loopback network. Reboot (this is only to ensure that the new rules are read and implemented - you can simply wait a couple a minutes, but a reboot is better and it’s only a once-off) and you should be right to go.

Let us know how this works out.
Ewen :slight_smile: