YouTube and CFP

Hi searched for this problem in here but couldn’t find the solution.

Since yesterday’s MS updates I haven’t been able to watch the YouTube videos that come from IP address 74.125.10.***

They say transferring from that site but the Videos don’t load and just hang at the beginning.

The ones that come from members sites ***.youtube.com work OK.

I wonder if this is a Firewall problem, a BOClean problem, Avast, or something else.
I didn’t notice this problem before yesterday.

Thanks in advance (make it simple, I am new to CFP) :wink:

Mike.

Just tried the same video on a different browser (Opera) and it works fine; so must be a Firefox problem. :-\

Update; could be a Firewall problem after all? :-\

Just been using YouTube on Opera and some wouldn’t load.
Tried same video on Firefox and same problem, doesn’t load, and from that same IP address again (74.125.10.***).

However checking CFP logs that address does not appear to have been blocked at that time.

Could it be an overload on that server?

Strange that yesterday one that wouldn’t load on Firefox loaded straight away on Opera.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Mike.

Hey Mike,

Without experiencing the same issue, it sorta smells like intermittent server overload. Only guessing, but I’ve had similar issues with popular tubes viewed from sites outside YouTube.

Cheers,
Ewen :slight_smile:

P.S. Be a bit wary of “YouTube” videos on non-YouTube servers. I always double check that the link for the object points back to YouTube. It would be easy to have what appears to be a link to a YouTube video linking to something else. I haven’t seen anything bad, but the potential is there and it will undoubtedly occur. :wink:

If you don’t mind, maybe you can post some of the youtube links so we can test. I have Opera 9.21, CFP 2.4, and the last Windows Updates reliability patch installed for Intel computers with no problems.

Another hint could be your log - any relevant blocked entries?