Wireshark against https

Hi hello,

I happened to watch yesterday a documentary about security on my national TV (Spanish TV) , and a security expert claimed that he could find a facebook or hotmail password with wireshark.

As far as I know, Wireshark isn’t able to do so because there is HTTPS , this is, SSL in the process.

I was told long ago that the logon process had a part when you could see the password in plain text, but that hotmail , the banks and facebook, etc hardened their systems in order not to allow that.

So, was this security expert right about seeing passowrds in plain text in hotmail ? . I have just performed a scan with my Wireshark and my hotmail in my personal computer, and I don’t see any password. I am not an expert but I have read and practise with Wireshark for a while, in the last years.

Thanks in advance and congratulations to Comodo , I like your products !

TLS/SSL can be captured and decoded with the right tools and knowledge under the right variables.

Learning how Wireshark works is learning much about how the internet works. It’s a great learning tool.

Capturing a Hotmail/Facebook password is far from the security of a bank.

Edit: I was referring to 128 Bit

Thanks for your reply,

I think Wireshark helps understanding how LAN’s work, not internet ?. Well, I am not an expert at all, just a beginner, it is just that I use it to learn how my LAN is working, although you can see Public IP’s of DNS servers and web servers outside your LAN.

I love Wireshark, I am a hacker, not a cracker, in case people are not replying my post because they think I want to ■■■■■ into something. :slight_smile:

In short: With Wireshark is not possible to decode HTTPS ?. As I said, in Spanish TV a hacker claimed to do so, and I was so amazed that I wanted to know further, because from my little Computing knowledge, that was not the case.

Thanks again !