WinXP Client <-> Windows 2003 Server Problems

I just un-installed Comodo 3.x for the 3rd time. ??? I have been a network administrator since 80’s and I simply cannot make it work properly on Windows XP Professional clients that are joined to a Windows 2003 Server Domain over a VPN tunnel. I do not think the VPN tunnel aspect has anything to do with it, but it may.

With Zone Alarm I simply need clients to “trust” a range of IPs that include the windows server, exchange sever, and the clients on that side of tunnel that I want the remote clients to be able to communicate and share files with. And to share files on the non-server side of the tunnel, simple add a “trust” range of IPs on that subnet. The authentication is done on both sides of VPN by windows server.

With and without Zone Alarm as configured above, connecting to the exchange server over VPN with Outlook works, as does Explorer browsing (whether to server, or other machines that have sharing enabled). However, once I install Comodo the ONLY thing that still work is browsing to the server with Explorer. If anything at all pop ups with other functions/attempts, it is a windows logon prompt, which thereafter refuses login and password saying that the client user is already logged in with those credentials on DC and that has been tried. And as I stated above, uninstalling Comodo restores full functionality so it is clear some type of Comodo blocking that is causing the problems.

I have tried adding General Rules as stated in a number of threads to no avail. I also set up two network ranges of addresses (domain side, and remote VPN side) AND then with Port Wizard had both Zones “trusted.” I see no block messages, and cannot figure out how to turn them on. I also seen a few mentions of other “wizards” (I think) but have not figured found any.