Windows 10 thinks Defense+ is disabled

I’m new to CIS, but I think I’ve encountered a bug. I’m using CIS on Windows 10 x64.

Since CIS updated to version 8.2.0.4674, My Windows Home Server 2011 has been reporting “The computer is not currently being protected from spyware and unwanted software.” In Control Panel / Security and Maintenance, I see “Windows Defender and Comodo Defense+ are both turned off.”

If I click “View Antispyware Apps”, Comodo Defense+ shows “off”. However in the Comodo app, HIPS is enabled in safe mode. The “Turn On” button does not change this.

Am I doing something wrong?

[attachment deleted by admin]

I have the exact same problem. So are both spyware programs actually turned off, or is the Comodo actually still working and this is just some Windows 10 / Comodo communication glitch?

I have the same problem. In Windows 7, windows checks the WMI namespace root\SecurityCenter2 to see if it is up to date. Antivirus products need to set these values and tell Micro$oft what a “Good” set of values is. I don’t think Windows 10 changed because CIS was showing up to date until I upgraded CIS. Anyways. Below is a PowerShell script I wrote to test to see if Sophos is up to date in a login script. You can easily hack it to work with Comodo, or just use WMI Explorer and see what the values in root\SecurityCenter2 are set to. Compare old Comodo values to this new version’s values. Have fun!

• JoeItSec

$objWMi = get-wmiobject -namespace root\SecurityCenter2 -computername localhost -Query “Select * from AntiVirusProduct”
foreach ($obj in $objWmi)
{
#Get Sophos State and convert to Hex. Should be 051000
#05 = AV & FW
#10 = Active
#00 = up to date
$HexProductState = [Convert]::ToString($obj.productState,16)
#Put a Zero on the front of the HexProductState so it’s real Hex
$HexproductState = “0”+$HexproductState
#Get the date in simple format
$CurrentDate = Get-Date -format g
#Make a good state to compare against - Change this to test if it works!