uTorrent Port Forwarding

How do I do that? I added a rule in version 2.4 for utorrent but I don’t know with this one, partly because I am not good with firewall rules etc.

Also if you can would you mind including information for port forwarding for mIRC and Limewire? thanks

The general rule for any p2p application is:

1. Allow outgoing TCP/UDP connections to any destination hosts, any destination ports.

2. Allow incoming TCP connections to the destination port that matches the one specified in your applications settings (I think they’re randomly selected from some range upon installation). Check the Options - Preferences - Connection to see what TCP port your uTorrent uses.

3. Same as above for UDP. Allow incoming UDP connections to the destination port that your application specifies. It may be the same port number as with TCP (I think this is the case with uTorrent), or a different port number (e.g. eMule allows different port numbers for TCP and UDP).

The important things is: you should allow that both in Global Rules AND in Applications Rules for your application’s executable.

The 5 rule set posted by Pandalouk (sp)? …

µTorrent

How to configure Comodo firewall 3 for µTorrent.

1. Go to : Firewall → Advanced → Attack Detection Settings → Miscellanous and disable Do Protocol analysis

2. Go to : Firewall → Advanced → Predifined Firewall Policies and select Add…

Give a name at the new Predifined Policy for example: µTorrent

Add the following rules:

Rule 1

Action = Allow
Protocol = TCP or UDP
Direction = In
Description = Rule for incoming TCP and UDP connections
Source Address = Any
Destination Address = Any
Source port = A port range = (start port = 1025 / end port = 65535)
Destination port = the port of utorrent

Rule 2

Action = Allow
Protocol = TCP
Direction = Out
Description = Rule for outgoing TCP connections
Source Address = Any
Destination port = A port range = (start port = 1025 / end port = 65535)

Rule 3

Action = Allow
Protocol = UDP