Turning Windows Firewall on/off

Thanks very much for the feedback ubuysa. I think we all agree this is inconvenient, but the feedback we are getting is that Comodo cannot do this programmatically or are advised not to on Win 7+. I am not sure exactly how this works, possibly, just to speculate, to register with the security centre programs have to stick within a range of privs and those privs exclude turning off the FW.

However we are probing in the background to see if there is not some way. If you would be kind enough to create another topic which deals with the issue of how this can be done programmatically, we may be able to make progress.

Kind regards

Mouse

I’m not a developer, in fact I only program in Python, and then only for fun. However the Windows firewall in WIndows 10 can be turned on and off via the netsh command:

To turn the Windows firewall off: netsh advfirewall set allprofiles state off

To turn Windows firewall on: netsh advfirewall set allprofiles state off

Is it not possible to get the CIS installer to issue those commands when installing (at least on Windows 10)??

From what I’ve read, Windows Store requires it. Here’s a confirmation after a quick search:

// rephrased to avoid misinformation

Microsoft now requires any installer not turn off the various components of Windows, from version 8 going forward.
Although it is easy to disable Windows firewall either through the installer, or even manually, Comodo cannot legally do this. That leaves the manual option as the only remaining choice for users.
If users cannot be bothered to turn Windows Firewall off themselves, they have no right to complain to Comodo. Instead, complain to Microsoft.
Currently, leaving the Windows firewall on should not cause any issues.
This should be the end of the discussion, as the issue is not with Comodo.