Setting up Ports for Dedicated Server

I have a small server program that we use to telegraph via the internet. We use port 80 (TCP) and port 7890 (UDP) for communications. I am new to COMODO and don’t know where to hit the hammer.

Can someone tell me, step by step, how to set COMODO so I can get this server back up and running. I previously had used a competitive product and had it working with it.

Thank you.

Keith LeBaron

You need to make one or two Global Rules for the incoming traffic. Not sure what ports are for incoming with this application so I will explain taking port 80 TCP for incoming traffic.

Go to Firewall → Advanced → Network Security Policy → Global rules → Add →
Action: Allow
Protocol: TCP
Direction: In
Description: Rule for TCP port 80

Source Address: Any
Destination Address: show a way of selecting your computer (MAC address, IP address…etc…)
Source Port: Any
Destination Port: 80

When done make sure the new rule is somewhere above the basic block rule (with the red icon). When needed move it up.

For further reference notice that CIS speaks of Destination and Source. As a consequence Destination and Source for incoming traffic are the opposite of Destination and Source for outgoing traffic.

With the Global Rules in place you need to make an application rule. Easiest is to make it Trusted. You can also make custom rules for your applications. Since you seem not quite a beginner I give you these pages with tutorials that can be of help:
https://forums.comodo.com/help_for_v3/faqs_common_issues_solutions_threads-t21180.0.html
https://forums.comodo.com/help/faqsthreads_read_me_first-t9364.0.html

Good luck and let us know how things go.

Hi Eric,

Thanks a million for the straight forward approach to solving my problem! It worked out just great.

And you are right. I am not a beginner. I began with a Honeywell 316, 16 bit, core memory machine in 1970. However, at age 75, I no longer can keep pace!