Sandbox settings

Hello,

I’m no security expert and would be grateful if you could help me understand the following:

1. Under CIS auto-containment rules, unrecognized applications are run virtually as “partially limited”. I wonder under what restriction level are unknown applications run in CCAV ?

2. Under CCAV network traffic control, the help menu states that TCP connections are blocked. Could a malware potentially use other types of protocols to communicate?

Many thanks.
yum9090

edit: changed “untrusted applications” to “unknown applications” to clarify the question.

Hi there,

I’m no expert on CCAV, but I think I can at least answer your first question.

The restriction levels are from a time (CIS versions 4 – 7) when sandboxed or “contained” applications were run on your original system but with limited access rights.

For example: Partially limited applications could not modify the registry and therefore not install things to run at start up.
This would prevent a keylogger or rogue AV from installing; a ransomware however could still encrypt your files if it didn’t need admin rights (e.g. WannaCry).
Higher restriction levels can prevent that but also cause a lot of incompatibilities (like having no keyboard input in games running sandboxed because direct keyboard access was denied to prevent keyloggers), which is why partially limited was the default.

Since version 8 however, CIS virtualizes unknown applications (based on rating, origin, age etc.). Meaning they run in a copy of your system (like a virtual machine or Comodo’s virtual desktop). If the container is reset, it’s all gone.
You could still have restrictions inside the container, but it’s kind of unnecessary and turned off by default. It’s not actually run partially limited; that’s just the default option showing in the greyed-out dialogue box if “Set Restriction Level” is not ticked (which by default it isn’t).