Rule for the Incoming traffic

I have no Incoming rule in Network monitor for the TCP/UDP protocol, but wondering how can Messenger and Internet Explorer recieve TCP/UDP packets ? I’m new in comodo, and would like to understand all things in it, how they work.

Update: I see the conection type is actualy outgoing, but recieving packets. I supose I am sender, but recieving reply packets ? I supose it is same with MSN messenger …

Incoming rules are mostly blocked by default. Whereas outbound rules are allowed. This is because outbound traffic are initiated by you, your computer or a process you have allowed and are considered benign (safe) traffic. The return traffic will also be allowed and are thus considered to be stateful.
In short, your browser initiates the outbound connection and the firewall allows this. The firewall then expects data in return and will also allow this. This is still considered to be an outbound connection since it is you who are the source (the initiator). Had it been the other way around, it would be considered inbound traffic and the firewall would have dropped the connection.

Look at it from a “point of origin” perspective and it should become a bit more apparent :slight_smile:

Thank you very much. It’s the same as with routers I guess.

I take it you’re referring to a router with accesslists? They may look and feel like firewalls, but they are still routers. A routers primary function is to route packets. You can add more functionality to it ofcourse, but it will make an impact on the overall performance. The more additional functions a router does, the less capable it is to route packet efficiently. But this can be compensated with better hardware components :slight_smile:
The only similarity is the direction control and permit/deny access. After that the primary role differs.

Hope this cleared things up a bit.