Quality loss when compressing to ZIP, RAR, 7Z?

That’s my question. I’m no techie but I’ve tried to do some reading at Wikipedia. From what I’ve understood, these archive formats are non-destructive, unlike JPEG compression for example. Then what is the key; how can you even choose level of compression? Are the files in an archive in any way affected by choosing “maximum compression”, or is the only - really only - catch that it requires more time to compress/uncompress? So I can safely chose maximum compression for my 7Z-archives, without taking any risks - there will just be some extra CPU time to handle them?

Thanks for any advice,
/LA

There should be no quality loss from choosing maximum compression. Like you suspected, it requires more time (and maybe cpu use) during the operation. I’ve never noticed any deficiencies in quality of picture files as result.

Thanks for the advice Soya, it sounds reasonable. (as for time / cpu time, I more or less put an equal sign there)

Speaking of picture files, it would be interesting to know how much you could compress a non-compressed file (BMP or similar), with non-destructive compression. You know what: I’m going to test it right now!
… …

Result from “normal” compression of a 1077 KB bmp image:
ZIP = 764 KB
7Z = 689 KB

Result from “ultra” compression was almost exactly the same (btw, “normal” and “ultra” apply to the options of 7-Zip File Manager). I couldn’t (with my eyes for a couple of seconds) note any quality loss when decompressing and viewing the BMP picture.

O I C - you mean to view the file while it’s compressed. Now I don’t know, but isn’t it just Windows decompressing it in a temp directory and then opening it? (BTW, I think rar is the most popular/best)