Portable Apps

Hello,

I am a noob so please forgive my ignorance. I like to you a USB drive with Portable Apps launcher and Portable Firefox. Each time I mount the drive and open Firefox Portable, I go through the same multiple pop ups. I have the box selected to save the rule but each time I unmount the drive and re-install I have to go through the process.

If I select Training Mode it seems to solve the problem. I am not sure if I should leave it in the Training Mode or what to do. Please help…

thanks
Hawker

Hi hawker,
Don’t leave it in the Training Mode :slight_smile:
Sometimes I use portable Firefox from my system HDD and I had all those multiple pop ups too. Only solution is to mark FirefoxPortable.exe as Trusted Application. I don’t know if it works for USB.

BTW FirefoxPortable.exe amnesia wasn’t in previous CFP version.

Thanks, I did add Firefox to trusted app and it seems to be working

Thanks again javascript:void(0);
Clapping

Nope I was wrong, this firewall program is a pain in the ■■■… I tried every possible combination of trusted apps on firewall and defense +.

This is a huge disappointment.

Hawker

I have the FW set to Train with safe mode and D+ to Clean PC mode and am having no such problems using FirefoxPortable.

Make sure not to purge your Network Security Policy with the USB unattached.

As I said above as long as you don’t purge the FW or D+ after the USB is removed CFP will save the settings, but is possible to save the settings, remove the USB and purge?

(:NRD)

Use Training Mode temporarily…

Cheers,
Josh

I did that. The problem is, once you detach the USB and then purge, any app on the stick is purged. Is it possible to exclude F:\portableapps* in D+ and FW policies from being purged when it’s off the system?

Have you checked Firewall\Advanced\Network Security Policy & Defense+\Advanced\Computer Security Policy for anything related?