Option to use users chosen digital certificates

Here are some certificates that have been posted by the users before. It would be nice if you could have the choice to use them or not. (it will reduce a lot of pop-ups) Please put this in the 3.9 version with the certificate fix.


List so far posted by users (And to be added in CIS):
2BrightSparks Pte Ltd - http://www.2brightsparks.com/
ABIT - http://www.abit.com.tw/
ACD Systems International Inc. - http://www.ACDSee.com
Acresso Software Inc. - http://www.acresso.com/
Acronis - http://www.acronis.com/
Adobe Systems, Incorporated - http://www.adobe.com/
Advanced Micro Devices, Inc - http://ati.amd.com/
Agnitum - http://www.agnitum.com/
Alcohol Soft - www.alcohol-soft.com
AOL - http://www.aol.com/main.adp?adp=1
Apple - http://www.apple.com/
Ashampoo - www.ashampoo.com
ASUS - http://www.asus.com/
ATI - http://ati.amd.com/
Auslogics Software - Trusted PC Optimization Software Provider Since 2008 — Auslogics
Autodesk - http://usa.autodesk.com
ALWIL Software (avast!) - http://avast.com/
AVG Technologies - http://www.avg.com/
Avira - http://www.avira.com/
Bitsum - http://www.bitsum.com/
BitTorrent Inc (BitTorrent/µTorrent) - http://www.bittorrent.com/, http://utorrent.com/
Blizzard - http://www.blizzard.com/us/
Broadcom - http://www.broadcom.com/
Canon - http://www.canon.com/
Cerulean Studios, LLC - http://www.ceruleanstudios.com/
cFos Software - http://www.cfos.de/
Check Point Software Technologies Ltd. - http://www.checkpoint.com, http://www.zonealarm.com/
Cisco - http://www.cisco.com
Corel Corporation - http://www.corel.com
Creative Labs - www.creative.com
Crytek - www.crytek.com
CV. TweakNow Indonesia - http://www.tweaknow.com/index.htm
CyberLink - http://www.cyberlink.com
Daemon Tools - http://forum.daemon-tools.cc/
Dell - www.dell.co.uk
Diino AB - http://www.diino.com/c/default-en
Diskeeper Corporation - http://www.diskeeper.com/
DivX, Inc. - www.divx.com
dotPDN LLC - http://www.getpaint.net
DriveSentry Inc - http://www.drivesentry.com/
Elaborate Bytes AG - http://www.slysoft.com/en/
Emisoft - http://www.emsisoft.com/
Emsi Software GmbH - http://www.emsisoft.com/en/
ESET (Nod32) - http://www.eset.com/
ESTsoft Corp. - http://www.altools.com/Default.aspx
Even Balance Inc - http://www.evenbalance.com/
EverNote Corporation - http://evernote.com/
F-Secure - http://www.f-secure.com/
Foxit Software Company - Free PDF Reader & Viewer - Online Download | Foxit Software
FRAPS - www.fraps.com
GlobalNet Limited - http://www.ie7pro.com/
Google Inc. http://www.google.com
Gpsoft - http://www.gpsoft.com.au/
HP - http://www.hp.com/
Hwinfo - http://www.hwinfo.com/
ICQ - http://www.icq.com/
Illustrate Limited - http://www.dbpoweramp.com/
Ilya Kheifets - http://www.anvir.com/
Indigo Rose - www.indigorose.com
Intel - www.intel.com
IObit - www.iobit.com
Javacool Software - http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/
Kaspersky - http://www.kaspersky.com/
Lavalys - http://www.lavalys.com/
Lavasoft - http://www.lavasoft.com
Lexmark International Inc. - http://www.lexmark.com
Lime Wire LLC - http://www.limewire.com/
Logitech - http://www.logitech.com/
LogMeIn - www.logmein.com
LSoft Technologies Inc - http://www.lsoft.net/, http://www.qtweb.net/
M-Audio - http://www.m-audio.com/
Malwarebytes - http://www.malwarebytes.org/
McAfee - http://www.mcafee.com
Mozilla Corporation - http://www.mozilla.org/
MSI - http://www.msi.com.tw/
MySQL - http://mysql.com/
NCH Software - http://www.nch.com.au
Nero - http://www.nero.com
NewsGator Technologies, Inc. - http://www.newsgator.com/
Nokia - http://www.nokia.com/
Nuance - http://www.nuance.com
Nvidia - World Leader in AI Computing
O&O - http://www.oo-software.com
Orbit - New Wallpapers For FREE | Wallpapers.com
Paragon Software - http://www.paragon-software.com/
Piriform - http://www.piriform.com/
PassMark Software - http://www.passmark.com
PC Tools - http://www.pctools.com/
Piriform Ltd - http://www.piriform.com/
PKWare - http://www.pkware.com
Power Archiver - http://www.powerarchiver.com/
Quark, Inc. - http://www.quark.com/
Rare Ideas, LLC http://rareideas.com/ri/
Raxco (PerfectDisk) - http://www.raxco.com/
Ray Adams (ATi Tray Tools) - www.radeon2.ru/downloads/att/ - Сервис регистрации доменов и хостинга *.RU-TLD.RU
RealNetworks, Inc. - http://guide.real.com/
Realtek = http://www.realtek.com.tw/
RIM (Makers of BlackBerrys) - http://www.blackberry.com/
Safer Networking Ltd. - http://www.safer-networking.org
Samsung Mobile, Samsung www.samsung.com
Secunia - http://www.secunia.com
Securom - http://www.securom.com/
Smith Micro Software, Inc. - http://www.smithmicro.com/, http://my.smithmicro.com/
Sony Ericsson Mobile Communictaions - www.sonyericsson.com
Sonycreative Software - www.sonycreativesoftware.com/
Spybot - http://www.spybot.info/
Spybot - http://www.safer-networking.org
Stardock Corporation - http://www.stardock.com/
Star Force - http://www.star-force.com/
Sun Microsystems - www.sun.comIntel - www.intel.com
SuperAdBlocker.com - http://www.superantispyware.com/
Tall Emu - http://www.tallemu.com/
Technology Nexus AB - http://www.nexussafe.com/
Techpowerup - http://www.techpowerup.com/
Tonec - http://tonec.com/
Trend Micro, Inc. - http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/
Truecrypt - http://www.truecrypt.org
Tuneup Software GmbH - http://www.tune-up.com
uTorrent - http://utorrent.com/
Valve Corporation - http://www.valvesoftware.com/
Valve - www.valve.com / Welcome to Steam
Ventis Media, Inc. - http://www.mediamonkey.com/
VMWare - http://www.vmware.com/
Winamp(signed with aol cert) - http://www.winamp.com/
Windows Live Services - www.get.live.com
Winpatrol - http://www.winpatrol.com/
WinZip Computing - WinZip for Mac - Zip Files, Unzip Files
VirtualBox - http://www.virtualbox.org/
VMWare - http://www.vmware.com/
VS Revo Group - http://www.revouninstaller.com
Xfire - http://www.xfire.com/
Xobni Corporation - http://www.xobni.com/
Yahoo! Inc. - http://www.yahoo.com/

Thanks,

Xan

Definitely give the choice! Don’t just add them to the list by default.

yes +1 these certificates shouldbe indeed added

Add Spotify AB - Spotify - Web Player: Music for everyone :smiley:

I like the Idea!

Hope it gets introduced… However I don’t like all on that list… But most! =) At least the BIG names should be added!

The list is long. They’ve added few but many are still missing. Driver signatures are the most important as they will most likely spawn popups. But same applies to most system programs.

Actually a few certificates from the list above are already included in v3.9 Beta. However the remaining are most welcome of course.

This should be done in a more well developed CIS Configuration Wizard, where the user could fine tuning CIS configuration (as choose Proactive Security Policy (in my case), choose what digital certificates to use or not, scan program files folder in the pc and allow or deny internet access to that programs, as many other options) before startup pc.

Guys, please see my topic below https://forums.comodo.com/gui_graphical_user_interface_wishlist/new_cis_configuration_wizard-t37699.0.html

Regards!

Good one, Joker.
:-TU

i agree, this list should be added.

The list in 3.9 is pretty big (although all of those are not listed). I really would like to be optional because I personally don’t trust 95% of those that are listed above.

This is exactly what I have been saying since I started using CIS. The list is called My Trusted Software Vendors. So why is someone else deciding who I trust?

I don’t have a problem with Comodo saying, hey here is a list of software vendors that have digital certificates, which ones do you want us to add to your list? But I do have a problem with them just sticking them on there assuming I’ll be OK with that.

See this post for a way in which the user can select which entries go on the Trusted Vendors List.

Regarding a settings wizard, see this post and this post in the usability forum (only available to members with special privledges). For those of you who cannot access the usability forum, you can find similar info here.

Comodo has added Google Inc, but not Google Inc. (with a . after Inc). Please add it. :slight_smile: It’s used in Google Picasa.

Pleae add
Mischel Security: http://www.misec.net/ (Trojanhunter)

Please add:
Sokno S.R.L. - Download SpeedFan - Access temperature sensor in your computer
Comodo Security Solutions, Inc. - EasyVPN :wink:

There has been a lot of deliberations in this forum regarding default adding of trusted vendors. Most of the users will oppose this saying ‘too much power’ is given to them and why should I trust them etc. etc.

The fact that some of the ‘trusted vendors’ are not being trusted by users also create problems resulting in opening new topics in the forum (and more work for moderators)! Many users complained they do not ‘trust’ companies like PGP Corporation (with questions like which company is it) and blamed Comodo as promoting their products. I myself had deleted this entry, which just recently I came to know is the producer of the product ‘Web of Trust’.

AFAIK, anybody can add the trusted vendors just by clicking

CIS>Defense+>My Trusted Software Vendors>Add> Read from signed executables / read from a running process.

It is as easy as that. If we popularise this, I think the users will get lesser pop ups without any complaints against Comodo. Adding 10-15 vendors like this may not be that much cumbersome. I don’t think users will add more than that except a handful. But, default addition of ‘trusted vendors’ could potentially lead of maligning of Comodo.

An alternative suggestion would be to have an option to scan your system to find digital signatures, then the user can add to the list those they wish to include.

Good plan.