Newbie printer sharing question

Morning,

I apologize but I am new to Comodo. My computer is part of a small network and I have an HP printer connected to it which I share with other members of the network. I have discvovered that since I installed comodo people cannot access the printer. If I disable the firewall then it it becomes available. Is there (of course there is) a way to make the printer available?

Thanks folks

Welcome to the forums, ipfnd (:WAV)

Of course there’s a way! ;D

In general, you would create a Zone and then use that Zone to define a trusted Network. This would allow unimpeded traffic to/from the printer.

However, in your scenario, this would mean the other folks would have access to your computer.

So, let’s take this approach.

Go to Security/Logs. Right-click and select “Clear all logs.” Then have someone try to access the printer (with firewall fully enabled). It will of course fail. Immediately go back to Activity/Logs. Right-click, select “Export to HTML.” Save the file, and reopen it. Highlight the entries there, and Copy them. Then Paste those into your next post here. You can edit your personal/external IP address if it shows up, for privacy (you need not worry about an internal/network IP).

This way we’ll see specifics as far as port, etc, which should help us create some more tailored, secure rules.

LM

I am having similar problems with an HP printer. If i disable the firewall, everyone can print fine, but with it in place, there is no print.

I tried following your instructions go to Security/Logs and clear all logs. I am not sure if this is referring to an earlier version of the software. I am not seeing a Security tab or link and I am running version 3.0.25.378. Could you be a bit more specific and let me know how to get to the logs?

Thanks,
Tilla

Greet, Tilla ~

Question 1 is: Have you created a Zone to define the IP address of your network printer?