New install caused Win XP to appear frozen

I’ve been using AVG Pro with their firewall for the last several months with good results. However, I’d read several reviews about the Comodo Firewall that made me download it. As I surveyed the site, I saw the Antivirus and decided to try that as well. I am running Windows XP Pro SP 2 on an AMD Athlon 1.4 GHz system with 1 GB of RAM. I’m a systems consultant so I’m used to installing and uninstalling applications and am aware of the problems they can bring… especially if they’re still beta.

After completely uninstalling AVG w/Firewall, I installed Comodo AV 1.1 (beta). The install appeared to go just fine. However, after rebooting the system, it slowed to a crawl. The only reason I knew it wasn’t frozen was because the cursor moved. However, everything else was so slow that it appeared frozen. I tried several reboots and cold boots only to have the same thing occur. In fact, the only way I could get the system to shutdown/reboot was to manually shut it down. After the first reboot, the system was so slow it didn’t even get to the explorer screen. I tried uninstalling it in Safe Mode but that failed due to an issue with the Windows Installer and Safe Mode. I finally resorted to using System Restore from Safe Mode. That brought my system back to the pre-Comodo mode. I’m tempted to try the install once more, but this is my production machine. I’m also wondering if I’ll have similar issues with the Comodo Firewall.

Any help whatsoever would be greatly appreciated!

Clem

I have just had similar, but slightly different, problems.

I installed CPF and all went well. Left CAv for a few days, while I learnt about CPF.

Decided to install CAV, but I wanted to just be on the PC - I did NOT want it to be active, just to do scans on demand - and left the current AV application (AVG) installed and as the resident app.