Internet Explorer closing suddenly

I just downloaded the firewall and I am not at all computer savy! I tried to read your stuff but I am lost! I really don’t have time to get to deep into this my elderly mother 83 is sick and I have to take care of her and my daughter is in the Army and I have a lot of responsibility regarding that.

Can you answer a simple question for me regarding my internet explorer just closing all of a sudden now! I have windows XP Dell E310 if that helps. I used to have zone alarm but found out on our local internet advisor radio website about this firewall.

I am completely self-taught and never had time to under stand all the jargon!

What can I do about this problem? Does it have something to do with the level of security that is set?

Hi nettiemich and welcome to the forums
Are there any error messages or does it just close. I have seen this problem reported on other forums. Some of the fixes they suggest are quite technical.
ZA is a product that is very hard to remove all traces of.
Have you run an anti virus and spyware check.
You could try firefox browser and see if it has the same problem.

Not much help eh!
Hang in there, someone else might have some better ideas.

How did you know ZoneAlarm was involved? ;D

I agree with sullo in the malware detection solution.

HaHaHa! :smiley:
Bloody thing seems to pop up everywhere doesn’t it.

nettiemich
The event viewer might show an application error for ie that could help point in the right direction. Event Viewer is located in Control Panel under Administrative Tools. Click on Application in the left panel and scroll through list in the right panel looking for errors.

I am completely self-taught and never had time to under stand all the jargon!
Teaching yourself is one of the better ways to get familiar with your system. Forget the jargon, retain what's important to you. One of the best weapons for problem solving is a good search engine, the other is forums like this.