Infection Found? What Do I Do Next?

Hi

Just run a manual scan and 01 infection was found.

Threat Name: Rootkit.HiddenValue@0
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\OE

I just use a computer so am a complete novice when it comes to something like this. I believe that the above is a Registry key? If so why is Comodo flagging it up as a possible infection? I know that it’s not good to mess around with Registry entries so what do I do next? I’m tempted to hit the “Ignore” button as my computer appears to be running just fine.

If any of you are kind enough to offer help, can you please treat me as you would a child and give me simple instructions as I really don’t understand the jargon at all.

Thanks in advance
FF

Please quarintine the file with comodo and send it to comodo from the quarintine area… :slight_smile:

Now,to crosscheck your computer is clean…perform a scan with AVP tool and delete if disinfections is not possible. :smiley:

Just fill in a short form and your download will start…update and scan… 8)

Thanks for your response.

1st - Comodo cannot quarantine this registry key? file
2nd - Could this key/file be a key/file hidden by Windows OS? as it appears to relate to the running of Outlook Express and cannot be quarantined?
3rd - How do I forward this key/file to Comodo if I can’t quarantine it?

etc.
“quarIntine” File?! ???

Do you know what are you talking about?
Sure you have no idea … as usual… & you are reported again to the moderators

=======

Hi Fastflys,

Please do not follow any advice given by malwarekiller
Read this thread & this message

I don’t see the attention by mods yet & it’s sad & dangerous
There were several similar “advices”. It has to be stopped!

This detection is most likely False Positive

Please rather wait for the response from Comodo’s support staff

Meanwhile supply more info about your system:
OS & Service Pack; platform (x64 or 32 bit)
Version of Comodo installed & current DB of AV