I'm ready to move on...

I have spent the weekend reinstalling Win XP Pro on my desktop because I tried to install 3.8 over 3.5. The installer said it had to remove a “previous version” so I said yes. Only when I tried a second time to install 3.8 it continued to tell me I had a previous version installed and I had to remove it first. I say “continued” because I told it three times to remove the previous version but … You know the answer because I have searched this forum as well as the web and this problem in not new. Shame on the programmers here. Finally I tried to remove it manually and eventually my OS wouldn’t boot. I will say you folks dig your product as deep as I have ever seen. (That is what is known as a left handed compliment).

I used to be a computer programmer and if I wrote such sloopy code I would have been fired. It is very unprofessional to release a product in such a poor state and from what I read here and elsewhere this “uninstall” problem is a continuing problem with this company,at the very least this product. It is a shame because I liked the firewall and it can be very very effective. But it should not be such an adventure to move from one release to the next.

Years ago I was a systems programmer on IBM OS MFT, MVT and VM systems where we might have to take a whole weekend to do a sysgen on a new release. I was paid really good money to suffer through it in those days. Today I am willing to pay good money to use a really reliable product and unfortunately this product does not fall into that category. It begins to appear that I got what I paid for.

Sadly I may have to do this again on my new laptop as I blindly installed 3.8…468 on this PC and I have little confidence that your uninstall software will really cleanup after the install software. Someone coined a phrase way back when that says something about “the right hand not knowing what the left hand was doing”. In my experience and opinion it seems to apply to this product.