Help - 1st full backup

Over in the CIS forum, Eric told me I may have a significant virus and I should downl;oad Comoido Backup and do a back up, before doiung anything else.

I am reading the Help pages of CB and although it looks confusing I think I can figure it out. My big question is " what do I need to backup"? Do I need to backup everything? What files do I type in for the backup. Please consider me to be an absolute beginner.
Thanks

There is no good answer to what to backup. The best answer is to backup data files. Programas have to be re-installed subsequently.

Search for the data and backup make your backup.

Just data files? I thought I needed to go deeper than that.

Here is the advise I am following:

1. Back-up all your files and folders using a back-up program, for example Comodo Back-up

2. Download following programs and install them

Superantispyware

Malwarebytes Antimalware

Bitdefender Free (32 bit only

So I only have to back up data?

That depends on what your next cuorse oo action is going to be. If you are going to reinstall windows and your applications, then you only need to backup the data that you have generated.

1) Back-up all [b]your [/b] files and folders using a back-up program, for example Comodo Back-up

See what a difference it makes if we shift the emphasis from “all” to “your”? :wink:

If you save all your documents in “My Documents” and you use Outlook or Thunderbird for your email, I would back up those two items as a minimum.

Cheers,
Ewen :slight_smile:

I guess I’m not being clear .(1)I do not know what I’m doing and I may not have asked the right question. (2)I do not have a copy of Windows so I sure hope I don’t need to reinstall it. (3) If data is the only thing I need to be concerned with , then yes I merely backup document, photos and my e mail accounts.