CPF vs WinAmp & C.

Hi to all, I’m just new with this firewall, also if I have enough experience about any software, I’m just encountering an understandable “problem”, maybe because all firewalls I had before was not so good like CPF.
The problem is about, in this case, any app that need to comunicate and winamp.exe:
If winamp is running (I’m listening music) and I launch, for example, OE, CPF ask me if I would to let winamp.exe to comunicate using msimn.exe (OE), If I answer DENY, winamp.exe will not comunicate but also OE will stop to work
I’d tried to block winamp.exe adding it from Securuty/App monitor, but nothing changed

That’s just the major trouble I just experienced right now, but I saw also that any app is trying to get access to the network through another app, a DENY solution will stop both

Any suggestion?

Tks in advance

Hi, you can view the topic here…

https://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,3163.0.html

:)As well, you can set your OLE alerts to low so you are not bothered by them. :slight_smile:

Paul

AndyWarrior, in addition to the info Paul has provided, I’d like to add what has worked for me…

When I have an application (such as winamp) that I use a lot, and it creates this type of situation, I create an application control rule blocking the executable for the application (in this case, winamp.exe) from connecting to the internet. It will go something like this:

In CPF Application Monitor, Add a rule. Find your winamp.exe for the Application (first line). For the second line (Parent), find the connecting app (in this case, msimn.exe). Click to apply the Criteria, and select Block. Select OK, and close/exit from CPF.

Reboot Windows. For me, this seems effective in eliminating the issue for the application.

LM

Hi little mac, no i’m not stalking you, lol. Wouldn’t this prevent Winamp from being able to watch streaming video , etc then?

Paul

LOL, could be the other way around! :smiley: