Comodo is blocking OpenOffice "Check for updates"

Comodo is blocking OpenOffice “Check for updates”, but I cannot see how to correct this.

I get this message from OpenOffice:
“The host name update.services.openoffice.org could not be resolved.”

When I “Allow all” in Comodo, the problem disappears.

Looking in Comodo Application Monitor and Component Monitor, I cannot see anything blocked.

I have not set up any fancy rules - I am a Comodo newbie.

hi,

i have personally disabled windows Service DNS.

you might instead try in advanced setting skip recursive DNS.

Mike

PS: its reported to have svchost have always asking … but i think its a dns problem

Welcome to the forums, johni ~

Will you try this:

Open Activity/Logs (in CFP). Right-click any entry and select “Clear all logs.”

Then try to update OO again, with CFP set to Custom. When it fails, reopen the Logs and see what is blocked. Report back on that. You can export the logs and post here using this method:

Right-click an entry and select “Export HTML”
Save the file and reopen it (it will open in your browser)
Starting at the bottom (oldest entry) highlight and Copy approximately 5 entries.
Paste into your next post here. If your external IP address shows (it will match up roughly with the IP in the lower-right corner of your posts), you may edit/mask it with “x” for privacy.

Then we’ll see what is being blocked and walk you through any necessary rules.

LM

Thanks Little Mac.

There are only the following two entires to report:

Date/Time :2007-10-04 20:41:17
Severity :Medium
Reporter :Application Monitor
Description: Application Access Denied (soffice.bin:208.67.220.220: :dns(53))
Application: C:\Program Files\OpenOffice.org 2.2\program\soffice.bin
Parent: C:\Program Files\OpenOffice.org 2.2\program\soffice.exe
Protocol: UDP Out
Destination: 208.67.220.220::dns(53)

Date/Time :2007-10-04 20:41:16
Severity :Medium
Reporter :Application Monitor