Comodo for Dummies,PLEASE!

Hi, I am newbie here and complete dummy for setting up stuff on my computer,but because my husband is even worst I do it. We had Norton AV on our computer for quite a few years,but after little bit of research I thought it was time for a change. So I downloaded NOD32 and Comodo (also have Spybot and Spywareblaster) and OH MY GOD my head nearly exploded trying to set it up!
Thank you very much for the video, visual help at my age is great! (:CLP) And also thanks Little Mac for your basic how to “set and forget”.
But after I felt so good that I managed all that I came across “Network Control Rules” and I don’t think I can manage that. After reading few posts it all becomes a blur.
Does it mean that I have to constantly attend to Firewall not just set up and update?
Help! I just need to know if “doing video and set and forget” is enough,please tell me,because now I have NOD32 to worry about :o
Thanks!

Lets assume you don’t run any server programs, you don’t share a printer with other computers, etc.
Then Network Monitor with the default rule is just fine. They will stay the same until you change them. The rules are read from top down - if a rule is matched, no other rule is checked. If the rule doesn’t match, the rule immediately below is checked - if it matches, etc.

Look at the rules:
Except for ICMP - you can search Wikipedia for an introduction

It is chiefly used by networked computers' operating systems to send error messages—indicating, for instance, that a requested service is not available or that a host or router could not be reached
it's allowing everything out (as is, application monitor is the one that controls outbound) and subsequent replies, and blocking requests for new connections from outside (eg. allows you to request a website, then allows the replies which is the page for your browser; blocks anything you did not request - you can search wikipedia for SPI and pseudo SPI if you want).