CIS Does Not Appear in tray

I have been using CFP on both my machines for a few months and have been pleased. I then got the update notification and proceeded with the update. It took forever even though I have broadband connection. After completion, neither machine would boot correctly and I had to do a system restore on both. I then uninstalled CFP and reinstalled CIS with the new version. One machine now seems ok but the other is strange. After reboot the CIS icon does not show in the tray but if you look at the taskmgr, it shows CFP.exe is running. If you click on the CIS desktop Icon it comes up on the desktop and in the tray and stays in the tray when you close the desktop window. I checked the startup file and it is starting with the -h suffix. SafeSurf shows as a running process but only shows up in the tray from time to time.

Did you do a clean install ? or did you import your old settings ?

Clean Install…

What OS/Version(s) are you running x32/x64 ?

XP Home 32 Bit. My other machine, that seems ok is XP Pro 32 bit.

Can you try to run the Diagnostics on the Misc page on the system your having trouble ?

Diagnostics says it did not find any problems with the installation…

Okay, are you running both systems with a normal of administrator account ?

Yes, I am administrator on both machines.

Can you set Firewall and Defense+ to disable and reboot see if this helps ?

See this thread about missing icons. Either that or a race condition when you have too many things trying to stick their icon into the tray on startup. Have seen is quite a couple of times with other applications, it’s a temporary issue mostly.

To answer Ronny, Disabled both and rebooted. No change. No icon. Clicked desktop icon and checked status and both were disabled. I switched them back to CleanPC.