CAV recognized by Microsoft

I’m new to the Comodo products. I noticed that Microsoft security center does not recognize CAV as a virus protection program. I have checked the “I will monitor the a/v program myself” but am concerned about the protection center center not recognizing the a/v program, especially since it does recognize the firewall. Any advise would help (maybe I have not congigured it correctly).

Hi Budzoid,

Have a look at these two posts:
Similar question:
https://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,4186.msg31538.html#msg31538

Possible answer:
https://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,4186.msg31540.html#msg31540

Integration may yet be coming.

Laurence

Unfortunately, it’s a MS issue… So them writing the code to include CAVS could take a while… :cry:

Doesn’t change anything about CAVS’ (or CPF’s) effectiveness, tho’, just 'cause MS doesn’t acknowledge the software. I promise not to rant about it, but I myself don’t rely on MS to tell me anything about security, and I really feel that WSC is a waste of resources, especially if you’re not relying on the XP firewall… :wink:

LM

Here is a Microsoft link to visit if you wish to read more on its own Windows Security Center feature: Managing the State of Security.

And here is an excerpt from the above linked article: “Recently, several publications have questioned whether WMI is a secure data source for reporting on a system’s state of security. These articles claim that a user may be misled through spoofing or tampering with the WMI data consumed by Windows Security Center for reporting purposes. However, a cursory review shows that the use of WMI does not introduce any additional security risks. In fact, if an attacker has access to the WMI repository, the system has already been compromised.”

[WMI = Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) database]

Laurence