AVG updates

I am a VERY newbie and I have searched the boards for this answer, and found some information, but I am unable to follow it because it instructs me to do things I don’t know how to do. So I am posting this question in the hopes someone can give me (in baby steps) instructions on how to solve my problem. I have been getting the following message from AVG free edition ever since I installed Comodo,that “No updates are available so the update process can’t be finished.” Please have patience with me. I am trying!

You need to add AVG updater to the firewall and D+ rules. You can also leave firewall and D+ in training mode and set AVG to update at a time where you can watch it.

Okay, I found the screen for the firewall that says, “Define a new trusted application” and I clicked on that. And then I browsed until I got to a my AVG7 folder. There were a gazillion files in that folder. How do I select them all? Also Where under the D+ tab do I find the place to add the AVG? Thanks!

NO,NO,NO I never said select them all. Just put firewall and D+ in training mode for a day or so and let Comodo learn AVG. You can manually add just the “AVG updater service” by going into Firewall\Advanced\Network Security Polciy then clicked on add. Make it trued. Do the same for D+.

Now, now. Remember I warned you and I asked for your patience. I’m not TRYING to be stupid! (I can just hear your response to THAT!) If I asked you to do things I’m proficient at, but you are not, you’d feel stupid too! Sorry, I was getting a bit defensive there, when you are trying to help me. Back to the question.

I got as far as clicking on “add” but you lost me when you said make it “trued”. Make what trued, and how do I do that? How do I find the AVG updater service.

Greetings!

The AVG updater service should most likely have something with “update” in its name. When you’ve found the right one, select Use a Predefined Policy and then choose Trusted Application.