Access Memory actions being blocked

I’m new to firewalls and HIPS and so far Defense+ is a mystery to me. I’m seeing several events a day being blocked by Defense+ (Safe Mode). Most of the blocks have a target of cmdagent.exe and once cfp.exe (I realize these are heavily protected Comodo processes). For example, the following apps are being blocked on Memory Accesses:

Unlocker.exe – a known safe app that looks for handles on objects like files and folders.

drwtsn32.exe – Dr. Watson system app.

filemon.exe – a file access monitor

firefox.exe – browser running an ActiveX creating a list of running processes (see my other post at https://forums.comodo.com/defense_help/superantispyware_whats_running-t31283.0.html

Are the memory access blockings normal?
Do you just live with them popping up in the logs?

–Larry

Running v 3.5.57173.439

Hey larry.
Once you understand defense+ it is extremely powerfull security tool and easy to use :slight_smile: stick with it for a little while longer and then decide :wink:

What you do in this case is… Comodo → Defense+ → Advanced → My securtity policy → Edit Comodo Internet Security

Click protection settings → ‘Modify’ interprocess memory → Add the apps there that were popping up in the logs.

I mean, I don’t think you have to do this unless it’s causing a problem. Every now and then I will get the same things with other apps… But I just ignore them.

https://forums.comodo.com/defense_guides-b144.0/
^ Look here to get a bit more familiar with defense+

Kyle,