a VNC false positive?

I used BO Cleaner last year for a while but had trouble with it. Thought I would give it another try. So far so good, except… While using VNC viewer I got a notice that a trojan was found in the VNC viewer file. I selected the option to stop it, and VNC worked fine. I ran VNC again and got the same warning. The BO Cleaner report is attached. Is this a false positive, or is it something to worry about?

[attachment deleted by admin]

Hey, Im unsure of the program cause I’ve never used VNC before… Have you submitted the file to www.virustotal.com \ http://camas.comodo.com/cgi-bin/submit ?

I have a similar problem, although I don’t think BOClean reports VNC viewer (RealVNC) as a virus. I have the VNC viewer excluded but every day it reports the file has changed (or something similar) so I have to exclude it again (everyday). Anyone else noticed this or is it just me?

:slight_smile:

Yes, I should say it is RealVNC Viewer. I ran it through virustotal and comodo malware analysis. Both said the files were okay. It is not a problem, just a minor inconvenience.

Did you send an email saying it is a false positive to comodo?

Heya boys :slight_smile:

Personaly I don’t know RealVNC - VNC Viewer, but when Googling it I see it is Remote Control Software. So I do think it is detected correctly by BOClean, but I am curious about Kevins opinion. Ofcource if you want to use the VNC Viewer, you can always add it to the Excluder.

Greetz, Red.

Being detected as RSK-WINVNC I guess it pertains the Riskware category. This means that it is possible to use that applicatin for malicious purposes if the user is not aware that a Remote Control software has been installed on his machine.

I guess IRC apps would fall in the same category too as it would be possible to install them on a compromised system in order to create a botnet