Author Topic: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game  (Read 4023 times)

Offline Topcat2456

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« on: December 11, 2013, 09:56:50 PM »
I play Scrabble on Facebook.
https://apps.facebook.com/livescrabble/

For weeks I found that I could not get past the splash screen. Eventually i reset Dragon to default settings and accessed the site.
I then started up my add-ons and, lo and behold, Priv Dog was the culprit and the cause of much frustration.

My enquiring mind then went looking for some sort of exceptions facility.

No joy...therefore no PrivDog.

Somehow I doubt that anyone cares, but just posting this message might help someone else.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2013, 10:57:25 PM by Chiron »

Offline Chiron

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11951
Re: Priv Dog the culprit
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2013, 10:56:45 PM »
This sounds like a bug with Privdog. I'll move this to the correct part of the forum, and change the title, so that they can fix it.

Thank you for bringing this to their attention. Trust me, they appreciate it.

Offline Topcat2456

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2013, 12:57:17 AM »
Thank you Chiron

My apologies for posting to the wrong area but I find the whole Comodo forum to be confusingly complex, and just go where a general search sends me. I know that there are people out there who spend hour upon hour on various forum sites and probably think that navigation is simple and intuitive. Unfortunately I go in with a purpose and get out before addiction takes over.

My warmest regards for a happy and healthy Christmas holiday season.

David

Offline captainsticks

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11198
    • Comodo Help
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2013, 06:11:41 AM »
....My enquiring mind then went looking for some sort of exceptions facility.

No joy...therefore no PrivDog....
Hi Topcat2456,
Click on PrivDogs icon and then click on the cog, this opens PrivDogs options where you will find the exceptions list.
Alternative, right click the icon and select options.

Kind regards.


[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: December 12, 2013, 06:28:29 AM by captainsticks »

Offline Topcat2456

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2013, 07:03:00 AM »
Thanks Cap'n

Looked real hopeful there for a while but  https://apps.facebook.com/livescrabble/  was not considered acceptable when I followed the directions given, and I got the message "Wrong domain"

Tried without the https://   and that didn't work either.

The link is Cut & Pasted from the site...

Mebbee there's something I just don't comprehend

David

Offline captainsticks

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11198
    • Comodo Help
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2013, 07:07:55 AM »
Hi Topcat2456,
Sorry about that. :-[

Try adding just the following,
apps.facebook.com

Offline Topcat2456

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2013, 07:25:26 AM »
Well Cap'n

Now its getting interesting.  PD accepts apps.facebook.com no problemo..

HOWEVER

the load sequence still hung on the splash screen even after closing dragon and starting up again.

Next step was to deactivate PD - and then the app reloaded swiftly and without problem.

Where to next?

David


Offline captainsticks

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11198
    • Comodo Help
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2013, 07:31:53 AM »
It might be worth also adding facebook.com to the exceptions list, that failing I am not sure what to suggest.


Offline Topcat2456

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2013, 08:34:56 AM »
Hi Cap'n

Well it looks as if we have an issue for the techspurts.  I did as you suggested, and it still hung at the splash screen. 

When I 'disenabled' PrivDog and refreshed, everything went well, just as it is meant to... Enable PrivDog and refresh - and it hangs again...

Looks like it is a case of PrivDog: The Dog that not only barks at invited guests, but also keeps the invited guests outside as well.

Ah well, we got along OK without it for a long time so a bit of patience waiting for the guys to do their job won't go astray.

Thanks for your patient advice.

David

Offline oyaremchuk

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo Loves me
  • *****
  • Posts: 162
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2013, 09:49:52 AM »
Hi Topcat2456, could you please tell me what threats domain you got blocked on page with game? You can click on PD icon and open any category to check. Any type of information will be usefull (text or snapshot).

It will help us check where problem lies.
Oleg

Offline Topcat2456

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2013, 06:41:27 PM »
Hi
Made a screen dump and even saved it as an image BUT the "Insert Image" icon on this message screen does not seem to work and neither does pasting the screen dump into the body of the message.
What next?
David

Offline Topcat2456

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #11 on: December 12, 2013, 06:45:09 PM »
OK - I clicked the additional options and scrolled down and now have attached the file.

I hope it helps.  :-)

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Topcat2456

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #12 on: December 12, 2013, 09:07:28 PM »
This came up after moving away from the non-loading page :

Looks as if it may be more appropriate but i have no idea why, when loading the facebook app, that this information does not appear - or that i have to click the PD icon AFTER I move away to another window...  Surely the info relating to the PD window (with problems) should be immediately available to the user. Also i am unaware of any instruction to move to another window before clicking the icon to see the results relating to a previous window. This seems an odd, and even quirky user interface - but as long as the information I have attached is of assistance I will be happy.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Topcat2456

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2013, 07:13:26 AM »
Well here we are and it is December 28 - and still no resolution to my problem:
I play Scrabble on Facebook. The following link will not load: https://apps.facebook.com/livescrabble/
It doesn't matter whether I use Dragon or Ice Dragon - it does not get past the splash screen and enters a loop.
If I disable PrivDog, everything works fine.
So annoying, and nobody seems to be concerned.



Offline captainsticks

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11198
    • Comodo Help
Re: Privdog breaks facebook scrabble game
« Reply #14 on: December 28, 2013, 07:19:19 AM »
Hi Topcat2456,
Sorry a solution hasn't been found on this matter.
I will have PMed Staff to remind them about this issue.

Kind regards.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2013, 07:24:33 AM by captainsticks »

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek