Wscript.exe and RPC control/spoolss

Gotta say I love this comodo firewall, a solid non bloated program.

I’m testing some stuff on my workstation. When I reboot Comodo Defense + flags C:\windows\system32\wscript.exe with action Access Com Interface target of \RPC Control\spoolss. I just cancel it and move on but I’m curious if this is something I can allow or if I should investigate deeper.

I’ve run a number of virus scans (Symantec Endpoint, Live Scan, F-secure, etc). And a couple rootkit scanners (F-secure blacklight, Panada, and the one from Symantec Endpoint). As well as malware scanners. No suspicious network traffic either.

Hrm maybe I should have stuck this thread in the CIS forum. My apologies if it is misplaced. I should also mention that I do have a login script on my home domain that mounts the printer and network shares.

If you use a script to mount the printer, then that is probably what the Defense+ alert is about. I am no expert, but the target: \RPC Control\spoolss looks like the print spooler to me. I believe that wscript.exe is the windows script interpreter, but I am not sure since I avoid scripting like the plague.

Yep. It should be the case, like AnotherOne mentioned, that the script is triggering that spoolss alert.

If you had not mentioned you were willingly running a logon script the next step would have been to track down the script to check if it was malicious.

All D+ Access Com Interfaces provided by delault in CIS config have security sideeffects.

Although I don’t know the malicious way \RPC Control\spoolss could be used I would like to explicitly suggest you to use a custom policy with wscript.exe and mark to be rebembered only the alerts strictly needed to run your logon script.

Although wscript.exe, mshta.exe, cscript.exe, cmd.exe are legitimate Microsoft apps they are not safelisted and granting too much permissive policies to these executable can lower the overall system protection.