Windows XP SP2 not restarting after installing CFP (V3.0.21.329 X32)

I have recently been trying to reinstall CFP (the latest version available, x32) on Windows XP. After installation, I restart the computer and it gets stuck on the black Windows screen indefinitely (I have left it there for 20 minutes). I can restart and enter Safe Mode to remove the Firewall, and Windows starts fine.

This occurs with or without Defence+ enabled. It is most likely due to registry entries left over from a previous install (I removed it a while ago for reasons I have since forgotten, and am now unable to reinstall it). I haver tried cleaning the registry with CCleaner.

I have AVG 7.5 installed as an antivirus. I am a full administrator. There is no other, and has not been another firewall installed on this computer.

Any help appreciated…

On some computers the Comodo Uninstaller leaves a couple of directories of files on the C: drive.

These are:
C:/Program Files/Comodo
C:/Documents and Settings/All Users/Applicaton Data/Comodo
C:/Documents and Settings/(username)/Applicaton Data/Comodo

Try removing these or searching your computer for anything named “Comodo” and deleting it then running CCleaner before attempting to reinstall.

(I should copy and paste this message. Seems a lot of people are having reinstall issues.)

Eric

Thanks, I’ll try that. Very quick reply

Ive removed those folders, and done a search. However, it still won’t install.

Any other ideas?

Hmm… I’ll need to look into it further. (Quick Reply)

You might try making sure that (Stop All Activities until comodo fully loaded) is un-ticked under the Defense+ security level and also exiting from Comodo Firewall before uninstalling it.

Hope this provides further help.

Eric

No help there… Take your time.

Not sure what you mean by the (Stop All Activities until comodo fully loaded) check box.