Win XP won't boot

Good day.
I’m completely new to Comodo; since my old sygate firewall isn’t being updated anymore, i decided to switch.

I downloaded and installed the v3, worked nicely, it scanned my files and found 4 malware items. 2 of which were in system32. sadly, i dind’t think about it and removed them. then i wanted to reboot. but since i deleted winlogon.exe, it crashed back to memory-check right after the funky windows jingle. I then decided to ask my old friend “last known good configuration” over; now, windows was executing perfectly. but the firewall wasn’t. i only got the little red x saying it doesn’t function properly and i should allow it to repair itself by clicking the little line next to it. when i did that, it said it had found problems but solved it, and i should now restart my computer. which wasn’t possible anymore, again. so i went back to last known good configuration, windows booted, but the firewall dind’t work. round and round it goes. after subjective 3h of either the firewall or windows not functioning, i decided to reinstall comodo. guess what. it solved it! no, just kidding. didn’t help at all.

i really like the nice colours and the theoretical bunch of functions with comodo, so i really want to get it and my operating system working at the same time. is there any chance?

thanks!

You should have not deleted those files. Never delete anything any malware scanner finds unless you know its a virus. Have you tried doing a Sysem Restore?

Perhaps you could try cleaning all Comodo traces with CCleaner, and do a malware scan with antivirus program(s). In other words, make sure your system is clean. Then give CFP another shot - hopefully it’ll work…

LA

Read this tutorial on how to fully remove all traces of Comodo firewall: https://forums.comodo.com/help_for_v3/comprehensive_instructions_for_completely_removing_comodo_firewall_pro_3_info-t17220.0.html . Then give it another go.