What is the best network rules for a stand alone computer

Hi everyone. Firstly thanks for a great firewall.
My computer is not part of a LAN. I’m connected to internet thru a cable modem via an ethernet adapter. Currently using the default network rules. As I am not very good with the rules, I wonder if the default rules are the best rules for my computer. Any suggestions for better rules?
Thanks
Hilmi

Welcome to the forums, Hilmi (:WAV)

With your setup, the default rules are certainly fine, and secure. If you’re not using any special applications that require special rules (such as online gaming, p2p apps, instant messenging, etc) you may only need two rules:

Rule 0 to Allow Out
Rule 1 to Block In

Before you try to make any changes to the existing rule structure, I very highly recommend that you read this most excellent tutorial on Network Control Rules by m0ng0d: https://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,1125.0.html to gain a better understanding of how they work. He will walk you through the creation of those two basic rules, right in the beginning. This was written for a previous version of CPF, so some of the rules language is different; however the concept is the same.

Keep in mind that with CPF, all applications (allowed by the Application Monitor) only connect to the internet within the context of the Network Monitor rules.

If you have any further questions, don’t be afraid to ask!

LM

I agree with Little Mac that the default rules are fine.
If you want more control, you can raise the alert frequency level slider to high or very high, and uncheck “do not show alerts for apps certified by Comodo” in security/advanced/misc.
You will now get a lot of popups, but the rules that are created are more “tight”.
You probably have to go in to application monitor to “generalize” the rules a bit, so you wont get, let’s say a popup for every IP on every website you visit.