Usability improvement suggestions

Hi.

I’m a some time user of Comodo Firewall Pro 2, 3 beta and today 3, and it is my preferred choice as of today. Tankyoo.

As a web developer, I feel that Comodo make good user interfaces.
Even so I still see a few minor things - default settings - that could be pointed out to improve the user experience. If you don’t mind.

I just did my firewall upgrade at this machine today. And it reminded me of some points I’ve noticed.

I know I’m too wordy, so here’s the short version:
1 - Users will look up an application twice if they think it’s been blocked.
2 - Users will not intuitively find the Trusted Applications, or where to unblock a Blocked Application.
3 - Popups timing out - bad. Scary, stressful, renders the user feel helpless. Bad usability!
4 - Blocking the users software? Then tell him.
5 - Version handling should be different from handling new applications.
6 - Rookies cannot recognize windows core services, so HIPS need to.

And so onto the explanations… Thank you for trying to understand the usercases before rejecting. :wink:

1 - Firewall Events is a good, resizable popup. It needs to be sortable though.
However, this is a natural use flow:
a) user discovers that email/IM/browser does not work.
b) user confirms that internet access is still working.
c) user thinks ‘probably the firewall’.
d) user opens Comodo Firewall, clicks “Firewall”, “View Firewall Events”.
e) user confirms that there is a log entry, the application has been blocked.

Now the user should be able to either click on an icon - maybe (x) Blocked - or right click on the application. When he does, he should be able to change the status from Blocked to Trusted application.