Updated from CIS 4 to 5 and Resources taken 95% by cmdagent

Hi
I am a total novice at this, and not a very tech. type person.

I have used Comodo CIS for a long time, and no problems until
i updated from Version 4 to 5.

I am running XP SP3 with Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10

cmdagent showed 95% of Resources taken up by cmdagent,
causing all sorts of pc problems.

I had to uninstall CIS5 and go back to CIS4 to fix the problem.

A web search said it was a bug between CIS 5 and Firefox ( trying to auto clear its cache at close down ).

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Ray U.K.

I personally have not had such problems, but in your place I would try to add a whole folder with Firefox to Trusted Files, before launching his.

Alex

White –

I suggest your probs with the CIS 4 to 5 transition have nothing really to do with Mozilla Firefox. I too am running XP SP3 only with Internet Explorer 8.0. I have also encountered numerous and serious issues with the upgrade. Please check out this thread in the forums here:

Comodo Firewall Release 5.0.163652.1142
https://forums.comodo.com/empty-t62921.0.html;new;topicseen#new

It could be some parts of V4 that were not completely removed. You could check out these methods to hopefully solve the problems.

Chiron –

thank you for your reply. ironically, i was using your cited instruction set and got as far as completing Step 2, the Revo Uninstaller sweep.

Here’s what happened. Something i did not bring up in related posts here.

1 I downloaded and installed the Revo Uninstaller as per instructions.
2 I started the Revo Uninstaller on the Comodo Firewall, which started the apps default uninstall.
3 I received a warning alert that uninstall could not proceed with WinAmp open, so I closed it.
4 I then received a second warning alert that uninstall could not proceed with Revo Uninstaller running.
5 I was now caught in a Catch 22 scenario, with a dog chasing its tail, closing the app doing the uninstall.