Update install issue

I’ve been using Comodo (in place of ZAP) for about 3-4 months now. I believe I have installed 2 updates in that time frame.

Each update was downloaded from filehippo. In both cases, the install routine required the uninstall of the old version before the new version would go in. A reboot was required in-between.

This is annoying and not good. First, I lose all my configurations when I have to uninstall and reinstall. Second, due to the uninstall and reboot, I am left without any software firewall protection until the new version is installed. Having a good deal of computer experience, I realized what was going on the first time I did this and unplugged my Linksys router until the new firewall install was up and running (I know that the Linksys router has a firewall but I haven’t paid any real attention to it and aren’t sure how good it is).

Is this how Comodo operates or am I missing something? Is there some way to upgrade without an uninstall first? When I used ot do an upgrade on ZAP, I didn’t lose my settings and wasn’t left exposed w/o a software firewall.

Yes, choose Update from inside the program.

And IF you must do an clean install, you can use a script that saves your configs (I don’t have the link to the script now, but look in the forum and I am sure you will find it…I think it is the first thread in the “Help forum”)

In future version, maybe in v3.0 (I’m only guessing now), you can save and load the configuration from inside the program.

It is not clear how update from inside the program works.

I assume you mean clicking on the “Updater” link. This looks like it doesn’t work when I have downloaded the update already. It appears that it has to do the download.

Also, I am not sure if it will install to my current location or will instead install to the default location? I have Comodo installed in D:\Program Files\Comodo\Firewall.

And I also keep a copy of the download, which the auto update doesn’t appear to allow me to do.