Unsandboxed files Vs. Computer Security Policy

I looked for it and I could not find an answer. I have read the tutorials and FAQ and still I have doubts. Since I jumped from 3.14 to 4.1, I am new with this sandbox module. I know that any unknown or unsigned program or file is moved to the sandbox where it or they can work but with certain restrictions to protect the PC. If the program is safe or the user want to unsandbox it, just move it to “My own safe files” where it gets a “trusted file” status.

Now what happens if I do not want that file as trusted and give it certain restrictions in “Access Rights” in “Computer Security Policy”. Do I have to remove the program from “My own Safe Files” or “Computer Security Policy” have precedence over “My own safe Files” so that I can leave it there? ???

For example: I got IAAnotif.exe and IAATmon.exe were sandboxed. I moved them to my own safe files; However, I had them in 3.14 with “access” to the disk only and to “ask” for everything else in Computer Security Policy.

I hope I explained myself correctly.

This is a very good question, and one I think that only the devs will have a full answer to. I’ve wanted to know for a while, too. I’ll see if I can get a dev to answer.

Best wishes

Mike

Thank you Mike.

I´ll be waiting for the devs to answer my question.

Regards.

Hernan.

Hey. What do I do?

I do not see why do I have to run a safe program sandboxed where I do not know what kind of restrictions that file might have; However I may give that file some restrictions in “Computer Security Policy”. If I do, any file that is unsandboxed goes to “My Own safe files”. Now if I set a custom setting to that file in “Computer Security Policy”, Do I remove it from “My Own safe Files”? or “Computer Security Policy” has priority privileges over “My Own Safe Files”?

It seems that I am repeating myself :smiley:

Regards.