Unable to successfully uninstall Comodo 5.5 Free Firewall

Hi,
I’m a newbie here so please bear with me if I’ve missed something or not posted in the right place.
I’ve been using Comodo Firewall for about a year or so and have been pleased with it until today!
I decided to to give another product a try, another free offering of a firewall from another vendor, so set about uninstalling Comodo 5.5 from my laptop, I’m on Vista Home Basic and also running Avast 6 AV.
I tried twice and each time the uninstall didn’t complete giving the folowing error message “A network error occurred while attempting to read from the file C:\windows\installer\cfp_setup.msi”
So I tried doing the uninstall using Revo Uninstaller, didn’t get the same issue but Revo frooze trying to remove leftovers, but when I closed it down I was presented with a Comodo message that changes to system would require a reboot.
Well tried that and my system refused to re start and Vista then did a startup repair on itself. 2 restarts later and alls well again but Vista has done a system restore and Comodo is still there!
Did some research on this forum and ealsewhere and ran the Windows Installer Cleanup Tool recommended. Tried again and and Comodo is still there, well the firewall isn’t functioning but the system tray icon is there although with yellow exclamation mark. Tried running the CIS removal tool as an administrator with same result.

Sorry but have had split my post as the text box was misbehaving here.
I don’t understand why Comodo is so stubborn, never had this major problem before. Concerned now as I have the same combination of AV and Firewall installed on all the families laptops and pc’s.
If I can’t just uninstall Comodo easily on my machine then I’m going to have major problems removing it at sometime in the future when need dictates.
I know from reading here and elsewhere that many others have had major problems with uninstalling Comodo.