Trying to install router, want to have Comodo FW, which comes first?

I am a newbie running XP Pro on old desktop connected to old Motorola Surfboard modem through my cable company. A Linksys EG1032 v3 Instant Gigabit Network Adapter Driver is installed in the desktop by the cable company, well actually it was the previous slower PCI card but I upgraded it a few years ago. I was behind a hardware firewall, a DI 604 by D-Link.

Recently, I began using Malwarebytes Pro (paid version), Avast 6 Free, and SuperAntiSpyware (disabled realtime protection). I notice that potentially malicious IP’s are trying to connect and they seem to mostly originate in China. I can see this in the logs from Malwarebytes and they are incoming. I don’t use Skype or Peer to Peer applications.

Now I have just purchased a laptop running Windows 7 and I purchased the Linksys 3200 Dual Band Router with the AE1000 wireless adapter. I need to reach the other end of the house with the wireless signal for the use of my laptop in the kitchen. I thought the dual band would help with the appliance/cordless phone interference. I am thinking I could have my desktop wired and the laptop the only wireless item. I don’t have a cell phone to worry about or TV connections.

The desktop is located at at the opposite end of the house where my only internet connection is so that will have to be my main computer, and like I said, it is running XP Pro and using only the XP Firewall.

I really want to add Comodo Free Firewall (only), but need something that doesn’t have a steep learning curve. A couple of questions…if I like the FW, can I purchase that only?
Do I set up the firewall before installing the router?