The "Only display my alias to others" Option

This would seem self-explanatory but I’ve tested it and it doesn’t seem to work. The first and last name entries are still displayed to everyone. I thought the point of this option was to display ONLY the text in “Alias”.

Any ideas or should this be submitted as a bug?