System Hangs after Comodo Antivirus Installed

Hi I am new to Comodo today. I run XP Home on a 2.6MHz PC with 1.25GB ram.

I downloaded the firewall (recommended by my ISP Exetel Australia) and antivirus software. I removed Norton products from my PC, rebooted, then installed the firewall. After rebooting all seemed well so I installed the antivirus and rebooted. Again all seemed fine so I started to check my PC for viruses. After some time I realised that there may be more up to date Av files so I cancelled the system check and performed an update. I kept getting errors saying that the product was performing other activities that needed to close before I could proceed. I closed all open windows but kept getting the error message. After some time a message appeared saying that updates had downloaded and I needed to restart my PC. I did this and Windows booted but became VERY sluggish and just hung. Even Ctrl-Alt-Delete did not function. There was limited access to buttons as windows booted but once the Comodo icons appeared in the system tray all ground to a complete halt. I could move the cursor but got the hour-glass pointer when placed over any part of the system tray, no applications would start if clicked on and the Start menu would not open if left too long after Windows start. I performed over a dozen hard resets but the result was always the same. If I went immediately to the Start menu after booting it was sluggish and the searching torch gif played instead of listing my applications.

To resolve this I had to un install Comodo AV. To be able to do that I had to call up the task manager with Ctrl-Alt-Del immediately that Windows booted and end all Comodo process trees as they started (files with names C*). Only then was my windows able to complete its boot and I could use the Control Panel to remove Comodo AV. I am still using Comodo Firewall and all seems fine.