SVCHOST.EXE

Hi There!
I’m new to this firewall stuff and just installed the Comodo Firewall software in my computer. When the PC starts up I get a bunch of screens asking about allowing svchost.exe. Is this something that I should put a checkmark in the box for so that it remembers my setting and allow this or is this something that I should be concerned about? ???

I am running Windows XP and just started with a cable/dsl connection to the interent. I did check off to remember my settings and allow the antivirus software as well as the software for my internet connection but have been removing the checkmark to remember my settings for anything else that pops up and then allowing it. Is this the correct thing to do? ???

Any assistance would be Greatly Appreciated. :slight_smile:

TIA
lnjr

Hi Injr

svchost.exe needs internet access for windows updates and to renew your IP adress, allow this.

Hope this helps you.
Novie

Welcome to the forums, Injr ~

Novie’s correct about svchost.exe; it’s pretty much vital to your internet connectivity, along with system time, updates, etc.

You may find this thread helpful as you explore the firewall; it has a lot of good stuff in it.

https://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,6167.0.html

LM

HI There!

Thanks for the information and the link for the tutorial. It is greatly appreciated.

I wasn’t sure since the pop up stated Suspicious Behavior — svchost.exe parent services.exe C:\Windows\Explorer.exe has tried to use svchost.ese through OLE Automation which can be used to Hijack other applications. Explorer.exe might be using svchost.exe to connect to the internet. So I just wanted to be sure.

Thanks Again!

lnjr (:WAV)

Thought I would post here to avoid lots of repeat topics

In the connections log its occasionaly saying that Svchost.exe (UDP out) with destination source 239.255.255.250:1900 is this a valid connection or should I be worried?