svchost.exe problem using PerfectDisk

Hello all. I’m trying out Comodo in the hopes I can dump the no-longer supported Sygate firewall I have been using, but I’m having an issue I seem unable to overcome. Perhaps someone here can help me find out what the heck I’m doing wrong…

First off, I’m a Windows server administrator for an international, multi-billion dollar company. The only reason I say that is so you know that I’m not new at this stuff, and you don’t have to give me “Firewall for Dummies” instructions. :slight_smile:

I’m using a Dell laptop running XP with SP2, fully patched, and CPF 2.4.18.184. I have AVG anti-virus, and my connection is wireless LAN (54mb/g).

CPF is working fine, and has been since I installed it about a month ago. But there’s one problem application; the PerfectDisk Command Center (CC for short). PerfectDisk is a commercial disk defragmentation program, and the CC is the management interface that allows you to view, report, configured, manage, etc the functions of PerfectDisk on all the servers it’s installed on. The CC is loaded onto my laptop, and it communicates with a SQL database on a server in our datacenter.

The communication between my laptop and the SQL database appears to work fine, because I can watch it make all the connections using the Activity log. The problem occurs when the CC on my laptop tries to communicate with PerfectDisk installed on a server in the datacenter. When that happens the Activity Log shows the following error:

Date/Time :2007-11-16 13:38:58
Severity :High
Reporter :Application Monitor
Description: Application Access Denied (svchost.exe:10.4.100.3: :ms-rpc(135))
Application: C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
Parent: C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
Protocol: TCP Out
Destination: 10.4.100.3::ms-rpc(135)
{NOTE: Destination changes each time, and accurately refelcts the server CC is trying to connect to}