Some suggestions

Hey guys, I’ve been using Comodo AV and Comodo Firewall for two or three months and have just a couple of suggestions. Most of them are just really small details.

I would like to start by saying that you have created an awesome set of products that I have installed on countless PCs, mine and my friends’. They are infinitely helpful when I’m rebuilding computers for others, and I can confidently say that their computer is both safe and fast. This message is not meant as a complaint but simply a few things that could make your suite even better. (Note that these are about both CAVS and Comodo Firewall)

1. The Launch Pad has got to go (or be optional). I realize this is being discussed in another thread, but I think it is important to the success of Comodo AV that you give an option to not include LaunchPad. This is the #1 complaint of people I recommend this to and/or install on their PCs, that they don’t see a reason for LaunchPad and it is just annoying to have it for no reason.

2. Each application needs a tray icon. (Especially if LaunchPad is disabled.) Firewall already has one but Comodo AV does not seem to.

3. The tooltip for the tray icons might be a little bit more informative. For instance, when you hover over it it might say (on multiple lines, to separate information):

Comodo AntiVirus
On-Access: Active
Mail Scanning: Active
Last Full Scan: 9/28/06

…just something along those lines, I think it would look more professional and be more helpful than a one-line “All systems are up and running” (as the firewall icon displays).

4. It would be nice if the firewall had some sort of (optional) indication in the icon when it is allowing or disallowing traffic, such as Sygate Personal Firewall does.

5. There are several typos in some of the information messages, notably the update-related ones. Just an FYI; it doesn’t really change the experience of the software for me, but it may do so for others.