Should I Uninstall v2 First or Can I Update to v3? [Merged Threads]

Do I need to uninstall 2.4 and reinstall 3 or just download the update? (:NRD)

I would recommend you uninstall 2.4 and do a clean install.

Al

I’m reformatting my hard drive which means a reinstallation of Windows XP and Comodo. Do i install Comodo Firewall Pro v2 first or can i directly install v3? Thanks. (S)

Just install v3. If you install v2 first, the v3 installer will just uninstall v2 anyway, and it won’t keep the rules either.

I’m confused, I have read through some of these threads & in one of them a person from Comodo mentioned that v2 should be removed before installing v3 (Different engine) Does the v3 update procedure do this ? it seems as if there is a problem in some cases that it is not doing this properly, resulting in a unstable v3 & when v3 is removed also prevens the re-install of v2.

Can Comodo please publish a manual uninstall & removal process so when/if the update goes wrong we can clean up our system manually & maybe re-install v2 cleanly.

I like Comodo & really want to continue using it but feel that I should wait for ver3.1 before updating
.

Back up your settings in V2.4, uninstall it then install V3. If you want to go back to V2.4 then it should be less hassle.

Hi all

I am on dial- up (I know stone age), just curious if i download version 3 .
Will I be able just to update what has changed or will i have to re download again.

Cheers :■■■■

qwerty,

Yeah, gotcha. Thanks

Hello pedropete

Just download the version 3 to your pc and then uninstall v-2 in safe mode. It is better to do it this way than to update. V-3 is completely different than v-2 so none of the settings can be used.

Good luck and hope you like v-3

John

Hi

I have 2 PC’s a desktop and a notebook. The other day on the desktop Comodo notified me of version 3 being available which I installed.

Im using version 2.4.18.184 on the laptop and have have no notifications and even manual update says there are none available.

Any idea why this is? I’d rather update than uninstall/reinstall so I still have all my settings.

Thanks

Been said many times before: Architecture is too different. Even Egemen (developer) states you must uninstall previous version before install version 3. That alone explains why the rules are incompatible.