Severe corruption on attempting to uninstall and crash causing data corruption.

Hello there,
I have been using comodo for quite a few years now, and am largely very happy.
Unfortunately I have run into some serious problems more recently

Background:
system:
Windows XP sp3 (up to date with hotfixes etc.)

Intel Pentium D 930 processor
4GB memory
Asrock 775Twins-HDTV Motherboard

comodo internet security premium 8.2.0.4508

Backup software: Paragon Backup and Recovery Free 2014
Disc Clone software: Easus DiskCopy Home

Initally problems started when I was getting some performace problems on startup. So I decided to reinstall comodo (long waits while comodo initialised). I used Windows uninstaller from Control Panel and ran the Comodo uninstaller.
Restarted windows, most programs I tried were unusable, Word, Firefox had lost all their settings. Looked for deleted items using piriform’s recuva, and found nothing. It looked however that Documents and Settings had become corrupted.

Tried a system restore to a known good point. No better.

Solution: restore a disc image and go back a few days. ( I image my C drive weekly).

I did not attempt the uninstall/reinstall process.
Comodo updated itself and all was (relatively) right with the world.

However, two days ago I had a hard drive problem. One of my SATA data discs was reporting bad blocks. Clearly this had to be replaced. I replaced the drive with another smaller one. I had another old IDE drive which had on it an old clone of my C drive. I mounted this in a USB caddy. I wanted to use this for additional data backup. I removed the partion as of course it would not mount. I reformatted, but windows kept asking me to reboot for the drive to be usable. Windows could see the drive but would not allow me to assign a drive letter. I’ll grant you, this looks like an XP problem.