Set up Firewall to allow access to printer but not internet

I have a d-link 655 router with a printer on one of the ports. I would like to allow a program to access the printer but not the internet. Would appreciate advice on how to do it in comodo. Thanks

Restrict the apps access to ports 135-139.

Where would that be done? I am new to this stuff and don’t know how to do it.Would appreciate directions or link to appropriate procedure. Thanks

Sorry. I was in a bit of a rush this morning and I don’t have access to a CIS installed PC at the moment.

I’ll post instructions this evening (my time - in roughly 9 hours) if that’s OK. In the meantime, can you please post the name of the executable that you want to prohibit from accessing the internet (just so I can use the same terms you’ll need to use to set the rules up).

As an overview, we are going to be creating an application rule in the firewall that blocks internet port traffic (ports 80, 443 and 8080) for the application in question. It will still allow traffic from that application over other ports though. The three ports named above are the three primary ports used for web traffic, but we could also include ports 21, 22, 25, 100 and a handful of others.

Mea culpa,
Ewen :slight_smile:

Hi Ewen, no problem, thanks for the help. The particular program is “photoshop.exe” and i assume that the procedure would work for just about any other app?

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

There are (at least) two ways to achieve this - the simplest method is to block the internet ports to the app in question. To be thorough, we should define two rules - one that defines what is blocked and the other defining what is allowed (the “Allow” rule relies on you having already set up a ZONE for your local LAN).

APPLICATION SPECIFIC INTERNET BLOCKING RULE

1. Open CIS and click FIREWALL → ADVANCED → NETWORK SECURITY POLICY
  2. Click ADD
  3. Click SELECT and navigate to and select the application you want to restrict