Scans

just wondering why the anti virus scans take sooooooo long, started at 4.53pm last night, the time is now 3.30 pm, which is 20 hours? I had to pause it for 2 hours so i can use the pc without it going at a snails pace, Is this normal.? ??? :o :o

http://sp.life123.com/bm.pix/requirements-to-become-a-police-officer.s600x600.jpg

Greetings, citizen!
I am a law enforcement officer and I am here to assist in problems you might be having!
Now, please remain calm and put the hands where I can see them.
Thank you sir for being cooperative. Now, I need to ask you a few questions if you don’t mind
and I would appreciate if you give an honest answer. You have right to refuse to answer any question,
but in order for me to provide assistance, I would need as much information as possible
1: What are your system specs?
2: What OS do you use?
3: Do you have any and all background “security” programs?
4: What are the settings you use for AV scanning? If you use default, just say so, it will be sufficient.
5: Did you attempt to disable cloud scanning?
6: Did you check the level of fragmentation on your hard drive?

If I am unable to provide assistance, you will be transferred to the trained and qualified detective of the PD precinct you are currently present.

in this cases i compare something to something similar. it would tell me, its not normal.

advertising seen on the day when the system specs are important for an antivirus scan:
this new modern computer, with everything on top of date hardware, is even able to perform a virus scan!
(can also play games, but who cares) :smiley:

When you have 5400rpm hdd with less than 2gb free space, less than 1GB of ram and heavily fragmented hdd with many programs running in the background, in this day and age, it does matter :wink:

comodo antivirus is usually extra time consuming in my experience.
this would be an ideal test computer for comparing. most, if the other tested antivirus is not limited by any setting.