Router messages

Here are a couple of alerts that turn up in the logs (the second one, every hour):

Inbound Policy Violation (Access Denied, IP = 192.168.1.1, Port = dhcp(68))
Protocol: UDP Incoming
Source: 192.168.1.1:bootp(67)
Destination: 255.255.255.255:dhcp(68)
Reason: Network Control Rule ID = 9

Inbound Policy Violation (Access Denied, IP = 192.168.1.1, Port = ntp(123))
Source: 192.168.1.1:4329
Destination: 0.0.0.0:ntp(123)
Reason: Network Control Rule ID = 9

Is there a need to deal with them, for instance, with Network Monitor rules? Perhaps nothing on the PC is listening for these things. They do pile up in the log.

My rule 9 is the default Block & Log rule, after I added a couple of others.

Hi Ravenheart

I’m not an expert at this, since I don’t have router. But, I think you need to create a Trusted Zone in CFP (Security tab - Tasks button) that contains your PCs LAN IP (and any other LAN PCs if you need/want them) and your Router’s LAN IP (192.168.1.1). I think you need to trust your router.

The first block is DHCP… maybe trying to give you your Internet IP (assuming you do this) & NTP is the time protocol… the router either wants to know the time or maybe its offering you the time.

Kail, thanks, but I don’t know–the existing zone for the NIC already includes the router’s IP in its range.

OK, I see. In that case I suppose you need you need to configure your router to stop offering DHCP & NTP. Does your router have a manual? Doing a Google search on your router & DHCP/NTP will probably yield some useful stuff as well.

Failing all that, you can always create silent block rules in the Network Monitor for these events. Just create a 2 new block rules… one for Inbound UDPs, with source port 67 & destination port 68 with a source IP of 192.168.2.2 and one more for Inbound UDPs, with destination port of 123 and a source IP of 192.168.1.1. Don’t tick the Log box for either of these rules and make sure the new rules are above your final block & log rule.